History of the Federation

The Federation was initially formed in 1972 with as the Pancyprian Amateur Federation Judo, Karate and Tae Kwon Do (ΠΕΟΤΚΤ) to be responsible for these three martial arts in Cyprus.

As Judo was already an Olympic Sport, the country was represented at the Olympic Games of 1980 in Moscow by the national champion Mr. Costas Papacosta.

From 1980 until 1992, the Federation was continually represented at international tournaments, including the Olympic Games – the last time as in Athens in 2004 where the country was represented by Mr. Christodoulos Christodoulides.

In 1990 and at the request of the Cyprus Sports Organisation, the Federation created and restructured its statutes to recognise the provinces of Cyprus as District Amateur Associations.

In 1997 Karate had formed its own Federation and the Federation was now called ΠΕΟΤΤ or Pancyprian Amateur Federation Judo and Tae Kwon Do and only responsible for these two martial arts.

In 2000, Tae Kwon Do was recognised as an Olympic Sport and soon after began the process of dividing the Federation into two – one for Judo and one for Taw Kwon Do.  In 2015, the two federations were created and the Cyprus Judo Federation (ΠΟΤ) became associated only with Judo and recognised eight different Judo Clubs and began to promote and develop the sport of Judo independently.

From its inception, the Federation has had two Presidents of the board;

  • Mr. Charalambos Makrides (1972 to 2013)
  • Mr. Sotos Trocomites (2014 to present)

It is important to note the work of Mr. Phivos Christou as General Secretary of the Federation from 1972 to 2015 and was named Honourary President of the Cyprus Judo Federation in 2015.

As a Federation, it has represented Cyprus in;

  • Five Olympic Games
  • Commonwealth and Mediterranean Games
  • Universities Games
  • Games of Small States of Europe
  • World and European Championships

The Cyprus Judo Federation is recognised by:

  • IOC (International Olympic Committee)
  • IJF (International Judo Federation)
  • EJU (European Judo Union)
  • BJA (Balkans Judo Federation)
  • CSO (Cyprus Sports Organisation)
  • COC (Cyprus Olympic Committee)

Historical Photos

Click the images to see a larger version